Graffiti for Afghan Women’s Rights

She writes on the walls to heal culture. Listen to her story.. She pushes the boundaries of her society as a female artist speaking her truth about women’s rights. Respect!

“I was born and raised in Iran and in the last 3 years of school I wanted to chose art as my major subject but I was told that as an Afghan I wasn’t allowed. So I studied accounting which was okay but a million miles away from painting.

When my family came back to Afghanistan I tried again and passed into the Faculty of Fine Arts at Kabul University. Art is such a part of my life that I don’t know what would happen if was not able to continue. It would be like having a piece cut out of me.”

Leave a Reply

