Dr. Wu’s Healing Art: Traditional Chinese Healing Through Art

“My vision for the artwork grew when a patient who was ill with cancer asked me to paint a picture for him. Suddenly I realized that I had found a way to heal many more people than the number I could see in my office every day.” -Dr. Wu

I’m a student always. I never stop learning. Lately I have been studying herbal medicine from Traditional Chinese Philosophy. The art of healing through herbs is poetic. Each plant medicine, has a name and a poem that goes along with the type of impact the plant may have on the body. I love earth based medicine. It’s where we all come from and what moves me forward in life. Dr. Wu is a story that I really loved and reminds me of the power that comes from my own lineage. In particular, the story reminds me of  my own Mom, who immigrated to San Francisco in the 70’s from the Philippines, to come live her best life and became a highly successful CPA and leader in her field.

Maybe you’ll like the story too, or want to find more out about herbs, TCM and how to heal using non-pharmaceutical methods (when appropriate, people!!!!). Note: I’m not advocating NOT seeing a doctor if you need one, just saying there are many ways to find wellness, and you can explore what resonates best with your body composition, world view and beliefs. Do it for a reason, a purpose. My purpose of being the MOST WELL that I CAN BE, is all about stopping the intergenerational transmission of dis-ease and trauma from my ancestral lineage to the next.

Give thanks for sight and purpose. 1 love family, peace and light to you.

-Sam
Eternal Queens

**********************************

Dr. Wu came to the United States as an immigrant of a laundry man’s son, who then went off to graduate from Harvard and become a highly successful venture capitalist on wall street. He took a turn towards his roots and journeyed to study and eventually practice Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM).

The holistic system of TCM led him to begin to interpret and express the intricacies and poetry of this philosophy of health through visual arts. His work promotes balance, healing, and relaxation by connecting with deeply embedded aspects of our being. His art speaks to the soul, encourages our systems to heal themselves, and teaches about culture and history all at the same time.

Image

Hear his story and see more of his art here: http://www.wushealingart.com/

Leave a Reply

